Gibson wins HPS Teacher of the Year

Special To The ONE
Staff Writer

Nine outstanding teachers were recently nominated as the 2020-2021 Teacher of the Year for Hickory Public Schools. Each of these notable nine will serve as the title winners for their respective schools.

 However, as in all competitions, a final winner must surface. Following the interviews conducted by panel judges Erin Blackburn, public programs coordinator, Catawba Science Center; TJ Bates, chief of police, Town of Long View; and Jill Peek, retired administrator, NC Public Schools -- the top three were announced: third place, Casey Roberson from Oakwood Elementary School; second place, Madison Yount from Hickory High School; … and this year’s winner as the HPS Teacher of the Year,  Dijion “Anyea” Gibson from Viewmont Elementary School!

To read more of this article see the Thursday, June 11th edition of the Observer News Enterprise.