Same-sex marriage: Supreme Court ends with ban with a 5-4 ruling

O-N-E Reports
Staff Writer

In a historic 5-4 Supreme Court ruling, the ban on gay marriage was ruled to be unconstitutional.
Currently, 36 states and the District of Columbia recognize same-sex marriage in some form -- while the other 14 states had placed a ban on the marriage of gay couples.
States have the ability to shape their laws in a way that best reflects their citizen's preference. However, this principal is limited by the U.S. Constitution.
The Supreme Court has made it clear that the 14th Amendment of the Constitution, with its guarantees of equal protection and due process, prevents states from putting a ban on interracial marriage.
"Today is a big step in our march toward equality. Gay and lesbian couples now have the right to marry, just like anyone else. #LoveWins," said President Barack Obama via Twitter.
Approximately an our after the ruling was announced nation wide, Obama made a phone call to Jim Obergefell, the lead plaintiff in the Supreme Court's same-sex marriage ruling. Obergefell decided to sue his home state of Ohio after his partner of 21 years, John Arthur, died in 2013. The couple had gotten married in Maryland just a few months before Arthur's death. However, in Ohio, the two were not legally recognized as a married couple because of the states ban on gay marriage. Obergefell wanted to make state bureaucracy recognize him as the widower of his late partner. In April, Obergefell's lawyer argued his case before the Supreme Court.
"I just wanted to say congratulations," Obama said to Obergefell. "Your leadership on this has changed the country."